Poems

typewriter-1580800

Adulthood

Releasing his sailboat,
no chain attached,
We stand together watching.

I wonder: will it return?
He wonders: how far will it go?

At times…

At times…
I become the King;
Ruler over the Kingdom of Man.
Everyone becomes my subjects.

At times…
I become the Artist;
The holder of creation
and great provider to man.

At times…
I become the lowest peasant;
Living at the end of the sea.
Their filth channeling to the sea.

Way Home

Upon the docks I stand,
Feet pointing to the white tips.

The ship has sailed once again;
ticket in hand, I missed my ride…
once again.

It will return to dock,
It always has…

Polar Opposites

Sometimes, it is me standing by the hole
Staring into the hole.

Sometimes, it is me standing by the hole
Staring into the sun.

All the While…

All the while…
While you festered over the anxiety of your present times:
The trees still moved.

All the while…
While you fretted about your public image:
The clouds still moved.

All the while…
While you obsessed over the things not done:
Those other things still wait to be finished.

All the while…
The trees still moved below the clouds,
All the while…

Pond Monsters

What I don’t understand is: why I think I can tame you.
Tempted by your siren call, I blankly walk into the depths were you claim.
Always, I keep returning to this place with you.

Water to my ankles, I wade deeper into your territory.
Your black shapes swirl beneath the surface.
My approach gives you no fear; only within me.

There between my legs you dance like two coy fish.
The soft flows of your bodies gliding around mine,
I drift with you both into a stupor.
Open, once again, to your poison.

Which will bite? I do not know.
Soon, a poison will enter my blood.
Soon, my sight will change.
Soon, I will know which bit me.

One day, the poison will win.
Over the years, repeated wounds.
I have not developed an immunity.

Each year, I become further addicted to your poison.
They dance within; replacing my blood.

Those on shore only see but do not know.
They are the observers. Hearts in hand.

Laying down into the water, my resting place is with you – both.

Leave a Reply

